photo home_zpspjo8kmb0.png photo about us_zpsarf3yetn.png photo reviews_zpshqab7na7.png photo book recs_zpsdmrlfetg.png



.

May 17, 2013

Review: Truth or Dare by Jacqueline Green


Title: Truth or Dare (Truth or Dare, #1)
Author: Jacqueline Green 
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Publication date: May 14th, 2013
Genre(s): Young Adult (Contemporary/Mystery)
Source: Publisher (HBG Canada)
Format: ARC
Pages: 416
When a simple round of truth or dare spins out of control, three girls find it’s no longer a party game. It’s do or die.

It all started on a whim: the game was a way for Tenley Reed to reclaim her popularity, a chance for perfect Caitlin “Angel” Thomas to prove she’s more than her Harvard application. Loner Sydney Morgan wasn’t eventhere; she was hiding behind her camera like usual. But when all three start receiving mysterious dares long after the party has ended, they’re forced to play along—or risk exposing their darkest secrets.

How far will Tenley, Caitlin and Sydney go to keep the truth from surfacing? And who’s behind this twisted game?

Set against the backdrop of Echo Bay, an isolated beach town haunted by misfortune, Truth or Dare is a highly charged debut that will keep readers in suspense from beginning to end.
Being a fan of mystery novels, I was extremely excited for this one. Three girls, who suddenly got targeted with dare notes that they had to do, or else. It was definitely interesting because I've always liked the game Truth or Dare, and I thought it would be fun reading what dares the mystery person would throw on them. I really liked that it was told from all three girls point's of vies. That way, I was able to really get to know each one of them in a personal level. It was interesting that the girls weren't three best friends,  but they all came from different places. 
Caitlin, Tenley, and Sydney were very interesting characters to read about. They were all different from each other, and I guess that's what I most liked about it. I was really able to connect to all three character as well, and they all felt real. If I had to choose a favorite character, it would definitely be Sydney! I loved that she was into photography, and that she was not into the whole "party" life that most teenagers go through. The romance in this book was just AWESOME! I don't know, but I just LOVED Sydney and Graham! Though there was a lot of jealousy and dirty tricks and etc.
Overall, Truth or Dare was a very enjoyable read. The ending was just TRAAGIC! I seriously need to find out what happens next, and I think the last 50 pages were the best! I do think it felt a bit draggy towards the middle, and there were some moments were I got a bit bored, but I still really liked reading it! Fans of Pretty Little Liars and Burn for Burn will love this book!

13 comments:

  1. This sounds really good. I love the idea of the truth or dare theme in the book too. It's great that you get to know each of the girls through their own POV too. Fantastic review!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I love mystery novels too, and this one looks great. Im happy to see you enjoyed it.

    Thanks for the great review!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I am sooo hoping that I can get this from my library. The mystery aspect sounds fantastic. Great review. :)

    Jenea @ Books Live Forever

    ReplyDelete
  4. Ooh I'm really curious about the ending now! I didn't realise this was told through different points of view, but it sounds like it was well done. Lovely review. :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. I'm really nervous now that you mentioned that the ending was Tragic. Why did you say that? There are so many scenarios running in my mind right now! I can't wait to read truth and Dare, it was my wow few weeks back and it's great to know that you liked it a lot. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

    ReplyDelete
  6. This review makes me curious. I've been hearing not-so-great things about this book -- not connecting with POV and the ending being annoying -- so to hear that you like it intrigues me. I like a good mystery and I'm a fan of tragic endings, so I'll have to add this to my TBR list. Great review :)

    ReplyDelete
  7. I love the game Truth or Dare as well, so this premise definitely intrigued me. It's great that the POV worked out and you were able to connect with all three girls. I've been hearing that it gets really repetitive in the middle and it seems like you had the same problem, but at least the last 50 pages made up for it! I'm going to wait for more reviews to trickle in before I decide to pick it up, but thanks for the wonderful review, Farah!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I used to love playing Truth or Dare with my friends until truth got boring and we couldn't come up with much dares! Caitlin, Tenley and Sydney sound like really great characters, can't wait to read this book and find out more about the creepy mystery!!

    Alicia @ Summer Next Top Story

    ReplyDelete
  9. I can't wait to read this! I love PLL so this sounds right up my alley! Brilliant review. :)

    ReplyDelete
  10. I always like mystery in a book and multiple POV's can be great :D

    Mel@thedailyprophecy.

    ReplyDelete
  11. I'm curious to read this, but I think I'd wait until the next book came out. I hate cliffhangers and this sounds like it ended on one. Great review, Farah. :)

    ReplyDelete
  12. So glad you liked this! This was one of my WOWs a while back and this is the first review I have seen. Now I am really excited :)

    ReplyDelete
  13. I love the game Truth Or Dare too! This really does sound like an enjoyable read and it's good you could connect to all the three girls. Sydney sounds awesome! Great review, Farah! :)

    Sarika @ The Readdicts

    ReplyDelete